彩鑽

IGI 依托完善的科學設備以及豐富的經驗知識鑒別和確認無色或彩色鑽石真實的顏色來源及顏色描述。

世界上已發現顏色種類繁多的鑽石,同時,鑑定彩色鑽石的顏色天然性非常複雜。IGI 擁有幾十年鑑定彩色鑽石的經驗,發展制訂出一套準確描述鑽石顏色亟需的科學體系。只有專業的鑽石分級實驗室才具備區分、鑑定彩鑽必需的理想條件,鑑定顏色來源究竟是天然的、經加工的、人工處理的還是人造合成的。IGI 保護著世界範圍的鑽石商、首飾消費者以及收藏家,始終深受信賴。

天然彩鑽簡史

世界上最著名的鑽石如藍色希望之鑽(Blue Hope Diamond)、德累斯頓綠鑽(Dresden Green),以及大康地粉鑽(Great Conde Pink)都是彩色鑽石,無可爭議地躋身世界最激動人心及價值最高的鑽石行列。在十六世紀前,包括彩鑽在內的所有鑽石都來自印度。後來,在印度之外的南美尤其是巴西、最後在非洲也發現了鑽石,這些鑽石被當地商人賣給了來自英國、法國、葡萄牙以及荷蘭的商人,然後送往印度或其他新的切割中心,例如巴黎、倫敦及阿姆斯特丹。

約二十世紀六十年代,彩鑽日益為人所關注,並成為收藏家和鑑賞家們熱衷的對象。彩鑽,特別是藍色和紅色鑽石,創造了鑽石價格之最。

如今,非洲是彩鑽的主要產地,其他主要的產地有位於南美洲的巴西和委內瑞拉、澳大利亞以及俄羅斯和加拿大。

原子種類和結構影響顏色

鑽石主要由碳元素構成。然而作為鑽石內部結構的一部分,有些其他元素影響了彩鑽的顏色級別。

內部原子結構中帶有氮原子(N)的鑽石是數量最多的鑽石種類。該種類的無色鑽石也包含氮元素,但其中的氮元素並不吸收光線。但是彩鑽中的氮元素吸收光線,這使得鑽石呈現黃色和橙色。棕色鑽石、一些藍色和綠色鑽石、澳大利亞粉色鑽石中的顏色也與氮元素有關。含氮鑽石占所有天然鑽石的 98%。

含氮鑽石分為不同類型,分別為 1aAB、1aA、1aB 和 1b,具體的分類取決於氮原子在鑽石內部結構中如何與碳原子鍵合。還有另一種非常罕見的鑽石,稱為II型。這些鑽石幾乎百分之百不含氮元素,只佔所有鑽石的 2%。這類鑽石又進一步分為 IIa 型和 IIb型。

IIa 型鑽石是天然鑽石中最純凈的,幾乎全部由碳構成,這些鑽石可能為無色、棕色或者粉色。

而 IIb 型則是不含氮元素的II型鑽石中極度稀少的類型。這些鑽石在其結構中含有硼原子(B),硼原子就是藍色彩鑽中藍色的致色原因。

彩色的鑑別和描述

人眼可分辨大約 1300 萬種顏色深淺和色差。然而,要分辨和區分這些顏色,需要採用三維法。使用該方法,我們可測量出顏色的明暗(值)、飽和度(濃度)以及色澤(顏色)。

當我們需要區分及鑒別彩鑽的顏色時,光線折射和熒光也會影響我們對顏色的感知。這些因素使得準確描述顏色的工作更加複雜。由於我們每個人對顏色的感知都有微弱的差別,顏色的差異在最終分析時就顯得十分主觀了。而在鑒定分級實驗室中,例如 IGI,那些觀察了成千上萬樣本的專業寶石學家必然在進行區分和鑒別彩鑽顏色最終等級時比常人更專業、穩定和精確。

彩色天然性的鑑別

分析彩鑽顏色來源是非常複雜的過程。首先,必須確定鑽石的種類,因為每種不同種類的鑽石都需要採用相應的特殊方法。色澤又進一步決定了鑒定師需要使用什麼方法。

我們用紅外光譜儀確定鑽石的種類。根據鑽石的種類,再使用特定的檢測程序。這些包括低溫(液氮)紫外線、可見光及近紅外(UV-VIS-NIR)光譜測試,光致發光光譜測試(PL)以及短波紫外線(UV)下熒光測試等。DiamondView™ 在色彩來源分析中也扮演了十分重要的角色。

使用偏光濾鏡和浸液顯微鏡對鑽石的包裹體進行進一步分析可為我們提供可能施予的處理手段的額外信息,讓實驗室的寶石學家得以鑒別鑽石的色彩來源。

所有這些方法都是科學知識在例如 IGI 這樣專業的實驗室中長期積累而成的。隨着人工處理鑽石技術的不斷革新以及合成鑽石的出現,寶石實驗室必須嚴陣以待,嚴格自律、不斷更新科技知識。

天然彩鑽分級

彩色鑽石根據蒙塞爾(Munsell)色彩系統參量可通過量度色澤、色飽和度、色調深淺(值)及鑽石色彩分佈均勻度來分級。寶石學家用人類所能達成的最精確及最穩定的方法來描述其見到的鑽石顏色。通過這樣嚴謹的方式,他們最終確定鑽石的顏色。

色澤的定義很複雜。鑽石可呈現單色澤,例如 “Fancy Yellow” (彩黃色)。鑽石也有可能擁有第二種甚至第三種補充色影響最終的顏色確定。例如 “Fancy Greenish-Yellow”(彩綠調黃色)甚至 “Fancy Greenish-Brownish-Orange”(彩綠調棕調橙色)。

“基本”的天然彩色包括:黑色、乳白色、灰色、棕色、黃色、橙色、灰白色、綠色、藍色、紫色和粉色。“紅色”也是存在的,但是極為稀有。這些顏色也可組合起來描述鑽石。

顏色的“力度”通過飽和度-色調的分級來實現:淺、暗、濃、深或艷。有時候,一個單一、無前綴的普通顏色也用來描述鑽石顏色的結果。

在進行彩色評級時使用到參考比色石,然後最終的顏色等級始終由多位經驗豐富的寶石學家共同決定。顏色的定義是相對主觀的,但是寶石學家則是像醫生那樣經過嚴格訓練的專業人士,他們評估檢查的結果並採用嚴格規範和穩定如一的方法描述顏色。

經人工處理的彩色鑽石

Marie Curie 是首個用輻射處理鑽石的科學家。輻射處理的鑽石可帶有黃色、橙色、綠色、藍色和粉色調,這類鑽石不含剩餘放射性。輻射之後,鑽石隨之產生的彩色是穩定的,不會消退。

黑色目前仍由鑽石石墨化過程得到。

HPHT 處理鑽石,即高溫高壓處理,無需經過輻射,可呈現漂亮的顏色,且該顏色持久不變,例如粉色、藍色以及帶有黃色、淺灰色、橙色及棕色色澤的眾多顏色。

若鑽石經過以上兩種處理,證書都會有明確的條目指出揭露

Colored Diamonds

IGI has the experience and knowledge, backed by full scientific equipment, to identify the exact color origin and color description of both colorless and fancy colored diamonds.

Given the wide variety of colors found in diamonds, the task of identifying the natural color origin of a diamond is complex. For many decades, IGI has graded fancy colored diamonds and has developed a scientific expertise paramount to accurately describing a diamond’s color. Only a professional diamond grading laboratory, like IGI, has the ideal conditions necessary to differentiate and grade colored diamonds, and to identify color origin as natural, processed, artificially treated or as synthetic. IGI is consistently relied upon to protect diamond dealers, jewelry consumers, and passionate collectors.

General History of Natural Fancy Colored Diamonds

The most famous diamonds, the Blue Hope Diamond, as well as the Dresden Green, and the Great Conde Pink, are all fancy colored diamonds, indisputably among the most exciting and valuable diamonds anywhere. Up until the 16th century, diamonds, including fancy colored diamonds, all came from India. Eventually, when these diamonds were found outside India, in South America, especially in Brazil, and eventually in Africa, they were sold by local merchants, to English, French, Portuguese, and Dutch traders to be cut in India or in new cutting centers, like Paris, London, and Amsterdam.

Starting from around 1960, fancy colors have steadily captured attention, and have become passionately sought after by collectors and connoisseurs. Fancy colored diamonds, especially blue and red gems, have reached the highest diamond prices ever achieved.

Today, Africa is the main supplier of fancy colored diamonds. Other important producers include Brazil and Venezuela in South America, Australia, and to some extent, Russia and Canada.

Atomic elements and structure influence color

Diamonds are principally made of carbon. However, there are other elements that are part of the diamond’s internal structure, and these influence the color grade of fancy colored diamonds.

Diamonds with nitrogen (N) atoms in their internal atomic structure comprise the most abundant group of diamonds. While colorless diamonds in this group are loaded with nitrogen, the nitrogen in them is not "light absorbing." The nitrogen in fancy colored diamonds, however, absorbs color, and this difference makes them yellow and orange. Nitrogen also is linked to color in brown diamonds, in some blue and green diamonds, as well as in Australian pink diamonds. Diamonds in the nitrogen group comprise 98 percent of all natural diamonds.

The nitrogen group is divided into different types, called IaAB, IaA, IaB and Ib, depending on the way nitrogen bonds with carbon in the diamond’s internal structure. There is a second, very rare group of diamonds, called type II. These diamonds are almost 100 percent nitrogen free, and comprise only 2 percent of all diamonds. This group is further divided into IIa and IIb diamonds.

Type IIa diamonds are the purest diamonds in nature, and consist almost completely of carbon. These can be colorless, brown or pink.

Type IIb diamonds, ultra-rare and nitrogen-free in this type II group, become natural fancy blue diamonds. These contain boron (B) atoms in their structure, and it is this boron in the otherwise pure carbon atomic structure, that is responsible for the blue color in fancy color blue diamonds.

Fancy color identification and description

The human eye can distinguish about 13 million shades and nuances of color. However, to distinguish and differentiate color, we use a three dimensional approach. we measure lightness to darkness (value), saturation (chroma), and hue (color).

When we need to differentiate and identify color in fancy colored diamonds, light refraction and fluorescence also influence our color perception. These factors make it even more complex to describe exact fancy colors. As we all perceive color slightly differently, in the final analysis, color differentiation becomes highly subjective. In grading laboratories, like IGI, professional gemologists who see thousands of examples to analyze, necessarily become more proficient, consistent, and accurate, in differentiating and identifying the final color grade of fancy colored diamonds.

Identification of the natural origin of fancy colors

Analyzing the origin of a colored diamond is complex. First, the diamond type has to be determined, because every type requires a specific and differentiated approach. The color hue further determines what approach the grader needs to take.

Determination of type is done by infrared spectrometry. According to the type of diamond, specific testing procedures are used. These include cryogenic (liquid nitrogen) spectrometry tests in the ultraviolet, visible and near infrared (UV-VIS-NIR) range, photoluminescence spectra (PL), and fluorescence tests using short wave ultraviolet (UV) devices. One important instrument used in color origin analysis is the DiamondView™.

Further analysis of a diamond’s inclusions, using polarizing filters and an immersion microscope may reveal additional information about possible treatments, and enable the laboratory’s gemologist to identify the diamond’s color origin.

All these are the ingredients of a recipe for the scientific knowledge that accumulates in a professional laboratory, such as IGI. Considering that there is a constant evolution of treatments and processing techniques such as synthetic diamond, it is vital for gem labs to be alert and well informed to continuously update their scientific knowledge by following this evolution in a disciplined, defensive way.

Grading natural fancy colored diamonds

Using the Munsell Color System parameters, fancy colored diamonds are graded by measuring hue, saturation, light to dark tone (value), and the diamond’s uniformity of color distribution; gemologists describe, as accurately and as consistently as humanly possible, the color they see in a diamond. By this disciplined approach, they determine the final outcome of a diamond's color.

The definition of color hue is complicated. Diamonds can appear to have a single hue, for example, fancy yellow. Or, diamonds can have a secondary or even third color that contributes to its final color determination. An example of this is "fancy greenish-yellow", or "fancy greenish-brownish-orange."

The "basic" natural fancy colors are: black, white opalescent, gray, brown, yellow, orange, lime, green, blue, purple, and pink. Red, exists, but is infinitely rare. These colors can also be described in combination.

A color’s "strength" is identified in a saturation-tone grade: light, dark, intense, deep, or vivid. Sometimes, a single, generic color without a prefix is used to describe a diamond’s color outcome

When grading fancy colors, reference master stones are used, and the final color grade is always given by consensus of several experienced gemologists. Color definition is, in the end, subjective, but a gemologist is a trained professional who, like a doctor, assesses the results of his examinations, and describes the color in a disciplined and consistent way.

Treated and processed fancy colored diamonds

Marie Curie was the first scientist to irradiate diamonds. Irradiated diamonds in yellow, orange, green, blue and pink shades are free of residual radioactivity. After irradiation, the resulting fancy color is steady and will not fade.

Black color is currently obtained by a graphitization process.

The High Pressure, High Temperature (HPHT) processed diamonds, no irradiation, generate remarkable permanent colors, such as pink, blue, and a large range of yellow, lime, orange and brown hues.

For both techniques, a report is issued with clear disclosure indications.